Utah State Library for the Blind and Disabled

Award Winning Books for Children

newbery medal Newbery Award
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
scott o'dell award seal Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
In 1982, Scott O'Dell established the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction to encourage other writers--particularly new authors--to focus on historical fiction. He hoped in this way to increase the interest of young readers in the historical background that has helped to shape their country and their world.
Beehive Award for Children's Literature
The Children's Literature Association of Utah (CLAU) is a volunteer organization that sponsors book awards that motivate reading. Annual awards are given in 5 catagories, including the Utah Children's Book Award. Winners are chosen from the nominated books by the young readers of Utah, who vote for their favorites.